Weight Loss Magic

From the time I was 23 until I turned 29 I was 20 lb. overweight.

It took me six years to lose 20 lb. and then in my early forties I gained 10 lb. back.

The earlier you start to train, the quicker you’ll see improvements in your life.

I did step aerobics and pounding the treadmill in my twenties. I did Zumba in my early forties.

You can lose weight and keep it off when you set weekly, 3-week and 3-month goals. At the end of the year you can assess where you’re at and if you need to change what you do.

I committed to changing one behavior at a time. First, I started drinking skim milk instead of regular milk. Then I ate chicken without the skin. Next, I stopped eating meat.

To this day I don’t eat beef, lamb, veal or pork. AT ALL. I rarely eat chicken and turkey. I mostly eat seafood and vegetables and pasta. During Greenmarket season June through November I buy and cook fresh seasonal organic produce.

I say: start to strength train earlier in your life. At 40, a woman needs to reduce what she eats and strength train to keep off the weight.

I started to lift when I was 45 going into 46. I was able to shape my self: “Make Yourself” as the Nike advertisement proclaims.

It would tick me off to think most people think healthful food doesn’t taste good. I don’t think meat tastes good. I don’t think processed food tastes good either.

I haven’t had a hot dog since 1992. I read the ingredients label of a hot dog package and found out it’s 100 calories and 90 fat calories. You do the math: does this sound healthy?

I haven’t had a soda since 1987. As kids, we used to drink C&C cola. Remember that? It was cheaper than Coke or Pepsi.

My philosophy of life is rooted in science and kindness as the twin engines of healing.

You can heal your life. You can have a fit body and a strong mind. It involves being kind to yourself and others. I’m not a fan of any kind of “garbage in, garbage out” lifestyle.

What you eat impacts how you feel. I submit that eating healthful foods can bring a smile to your face.

Cooking well is an act of kindness. Sharing a meal is one of the enduring joys in life.

People who take atypicals have lost 20, 30, 50 lb. and kept it off. I will try to interview one of them to share his secrets for weight loss too.

I’ll end here by stating that weight loss isn’t quick and it isn’t easy.

The rewards are lasting.

Author: Chris Bruni

Christina Bruni is the author of the critically acclaimed memoir Left of the Dial. She owns a resume writing and career help business. She contributed a chapter "Recovery is Within Reach" to Benessere Psicologico: Contemporary Thought on Italian American Mental Health. As well as an author and activist, Bruni is an artist and a fitness buff.

Leave a Reply

