Exercise for Schizophrenia Treatment

I reported on the link between exercise and improved cognition for people diagnosed with schizophrenia. At HealthCentral three years ago I reported on a study linking interval training to a reduced waist circumference in people with schizophrenia.

I’m confident that strength training has turned my life around for the better. I was 46 when I started to train at the gym like a madwoman. Strength training or as it’s called resistance training is the best way to maintain a better weight.

Though I lost only about five to seven pounds this is because I gained muscle. So even though I didn’t lose a significant amount of weight I dropped one pant and skirt size.

More than this it’s true that engaging in lifting weights conditions your mind as well as strengthens your body. You develop what I call “emotional spine.”

Having this strength enables us to take care of our loved ones who are getting older or who have a mental illness.

Having emotional spine allows us to live strong and not get blown apart by creepers who post hateful comments in the comments section below Internet news articles.

I’ll trust that those creepers are worth listening to when they say something that actually makes sense. A so-called international expert on PsychCentral attacked me in a comments section below her own news article there when I posted my own comment.

The hate in society–against people diagnosed with schizophrenia or other mental illnesses–I want no part of it. Most likely these haters aren’t kind to anyone they meet. This is their karma they’re experiencing in this lifetime. In a future life they’ll most likely come back as a person with an illness.

I’m not a big Facebook fan. I deactivated my personal account after a woman I friended nine years ago added me to an anti-psychiatry Facebook group without my permission. Social media–and the Internet–can be a tool used for advancing the good of humanity. Yet it can also in rotten hands be used to spread hate and fear and narrow-mindedness.

Everyone has the choice how to treat people. In instances of real discrimination that is when we should take out a lawsuit. Ordinary comments below an Internet news article should be taken with a grain of salt.

I’ll end here by saying that if you want to lighten your load in life you can make this happen by lifting heavy loads in the gym. Or by finding and committing to whatever fitness routine makes you happier and healthier.

I read yesterday that giving yourself a name to describe yourself–like fruit eater–helps make the behavior stick and gives you motivation to continue.

Just call me the Dead Lift Queen.

Author: Chris Bruni

Christina Bruni is the author of the critically acclaimed memoir Left of the Dial. She owns a resume writing and career help business. She contributed a chapter "Recovery is Within Reach" to Benessere Psicologico: Contemporary Thought on Italian American Mental Health. As well as an author and activist, Bruni is an artist and a fitness buff.

Leave a Reply

