Doing What You Love

I will always make the case for doing what you love.

A person can do this either on a job or in their life along with a different job.

I’m about to read a book titled Do What You Love–And Other Lies.

The author claims that doing what you love is a myth that keeps a person working at a job where they’re underpaid and overworked and management treats them poorly.

She cites how universities employ mostly adjunct professors instead of tenured professors.

Yes: I do understand and agree that a lot of employers stiff their staff in terms of money and other compensation and in terms of treating staff with respect.

Yet we cannot conflate these kinds of working environments with doing what you love.

We cannot extrapolate that everyone who does what they love is treated unfairly and paid a lower wage or salary.

Here’s a real-life truth: I gave a guy a career assessment quiz. One of his Top 40 Careers was occupational therapist. Yet long before he took the quiz he had wanted to pursue a degree in occupational therapy.

Is occupational therapy a low-paying job where the person is treated poorly?

I took this career assessment quiz seven years after I started my job as a librarian. Among my Top 40 Careers were writer, motivational speaker, career counselor, and librarian.

That’s why I strongly urge each of us to use our intuition to decide what makes sense for us to do.

I had done all those “careers” long before I took the assessment quiz.

The truth is clear: you can do what you love on a job or hate your job because it’s a soul-sucking job you work at just to pay the bills.

The choice is clear to me: doing what you love is better than doing what you hate.

I’ll talk in the coming blog entries more about why I stand by this assertion.

Doing what you love? Yes. Yes. And Yes.

The world does not need everyone to be unhappy living a life that is a lie because the “f” or fun is taken out of it.

Wouldn’t you rather do what you love than make yourself miserable earning a $100K salary and having a lot of stress and pressure?

You can’t tell me it’s “normal” to chase money so that you can buy more and more things living on a treadmill of buying and spending and buying and spending.

I say: a person can be happy doing what they love. And they can earn a livable wage or salary doing it.

I’ll talk about this in the coming blog entries.

Author: Chris Bruni

Christina Bruni is the author of the critically acclaimed memoir Left of the Dial. She owns a resume writing and career help business. She contributed a chapter "Recovery is Within Reach" to Benessere Psicologico: Contemporary Thought on Italian American Mental Health. As well as an author and activist, Bruni is an artist and a fitness buff.

Leave a Reply

