Disclosure on the Job

I’ve been employed at different jobs for over 26 years now.

Thus I’m confident that I know a thing or two about how to succeed on a job.

One thing I must underscore is that it’s still dice-y to disclose on a job that you have SZ or BP or any other MH challenge.

So-called normal people are lauded as shining employees even when they’re rude to customers and hostile to co-workers.

Normal people get a pass on the job for all kinds of behavior. Think again if you’ll get a pass on the job. This is just the way it is.

Management often turns a blind eye when a co-worker is rude to customers and staff. Management doesn’t reward people with an MH who exceed everyone’s expectations on the job.

This has been my experience. I would love to hear from readers if they’ve had a different experience.

I was at one point supposed to request a reasonable accommodation on a job and I didn’t do it because I no longer needed to.

For a number of months I was falling asleep at least three days a week. After a simple change in dose time to taking the high dose at night and the low dose in the morning–voila–I was wide awake every day.

With a simple change in dose time I stopped having a side effect.

To cover my ass I had claimed I had narcolepsy. At first I really had no idea what was going on so I thought it might be narcolepsy.

On the other hand it’s not always entirely helpful or useful to use a diagnosis as the reason for needing an accommodation.

So-called normal people get accommodations on the job for reasons having nothing to do with having an illness.

Thus in the next blog entry I’d like to give more tips to job seekers and HR staff about requesting an accommodation.

Author: Chris Bruni

Christina Bruni is the author of the critically acclaimed memoir Left of the Dial. She owns a resume writing and career help business. She contributed a chapter "Recovery is Within Reach" to Benessere Psicologico: Contemporary Thought on Italian American Mental Health. As well as an author and activist, Bruni is an artist and a fitness buff.

Leave a Reply

